Weinfest in Hochheim am Main, July 12, 2008

Weinfest

My client, Wolfgang, who runs the Germany office, told me that his village was having a wine festival over the weekend. He sent me a link to his village’s home page, and I decided to go tonight. Wolfgang had said that I might have trouble finding parking, but that was the understatement of the year! It was incredible how much traffic was converging on this tiny village…

Traffic coming into Weinfest - Hochheim am Mein

Traffic coming into Weinfest - Hochheim am Mein

HISTORY. Hochheim am Main (or simply Hochheim) is a town in the state of Hessen. It is near the right bank of the Main River three miles above the branch into the Rhine. Historical reference to Hochheim can be found, in the chronicles, as early as the 7th century. Located in the Rheingau, Hochheim has historically been a center of trade in wine.

As I walked down the crowded streets, there were all kinds of booths that sold wine. However, much to my dismay, everything was white wine! Of course…Germany is a leading producer of white wines. But, I don’t drink whites, so I just kept wondering around. There were all kinds of foods – everything from Chinese to waffles to pizza to Spanish chocolates.

 

Hochheim Weinfest

Hochheim Weinfest

Then…I saw a couple holding glasses with red wine! I asked them where they found it, and they gave me some elaborate directions, something about turning right where all the people are standing, then go WAY TO THE BACK and look for the Portuguese place. So, I followed their directions, and found the coolest place.

It was a small store that also sold pots, pans, flower pots, etc. The only people in there were Portuguese, and myself. I asked for a glass of red wine, and it cost only 1 Euro! Most of the other white wines were selling for about 3 Euros outside. Then, the craziness started…guys with drums started playing very loudly…and it was insane. Everyone was cheering and clapping, because, I think…everyone was drunk on Portuguese wine!

Near the Portuguese place

Near the Portuguese place

Pretty soon, they brought me olives and some kind of bean, in olive oil. It was very good. Next, they brought me peel-and-eat shrimp, and lots more wine. Finally, they brought me a drum to play, too. I said that I didn’t know how to play, and they laughed…they said that no one there knew how to play…that’s why the music was soooo bad. All this was done via sign language, since they didn’t speak English or much German. So, it was pretty funny.

After about an hour or so there, I decided I’d better head out. I asked to buy a bottle of wine, and they said it was 10 Euros. So, I said, give me two bottles. They said it would be 11 Euros. I laughed, and said, the price is higher per bottle for two? No…they said…it would only be 11 Euros for both!

It was a lot of fun!

Here are a few more pictures from the Weinfest…

Unusual pub

Unusual pub

Statue in center of Hochheim

Statue in center of Hochheim

Hochheim Weinfest Street

Hochheim Weinfest Street

BMW 530Xi - my rental car this week

BMW 530Xi - my rental car this week

Published in: on July 12, 2008 at 1:49 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jefferyhuff.wordpress.com/2008/07/12/weinfest-in-hochheim-am-main-july-12-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment